Tuesday, May 27, 2008

FS Wins in the Pagsalabuk Festival 2008 Photo Contest

by Arnie Aranjuez
Awarding Ceremony Photos by Ivan Santos
Banner Image by Edwin Loyola

The on-the-spot (OTS) photo contest was held during the Pagsalabuk Festival last May 22, 2008 in Dipolog City.

There were 300+ entries from participating photographers who came from Manila and Dipolog City. Judging was held last May 24, 2008 and the panel of judges was composed of Mr. Lester Ong, Dr. Vecinte, Didi Romano, Mr. Werner Lim and Atty. Selda.

The awarding ceremony was held at the Dipolog City Boulevard, which is the center stage of all activities during the festival. Mayor Evelyn Uy, the mayor of Dipolog, led the awarding ceremony.

There were four FS members who joined the contest and all of them made it to the top 30 and two figured prominently in the top 10. Chito Cleofas' worm's eye view shot of the street dancing participants in a close huddle won the top prize. Edwin Loyola's picture of a group of participants whose costumes create an interesting pattern placed 6th and another photo of a lone participant whose eyes were framed by his headdress and props placed 10th.

Rounding up the finalists are the entries of Nick Olayao and Rellie Lopez.


Below are the complete list of top ten winners:

1st Place Chito Cleofas
2nd Place George Tapan
3rd Place Dewey Sergio
4th Place Jim Giron
5th Place George Tapan

6th Place Edwin Loyola
7th Place Hermie of Dipolog
8th Place George Tapan
9th Place Dewey Sergio

10th Place Edwin Loyola

1st Place Chito Cleofas

6th Place Edwin Loyola

10th Place Edwin Loyola

No comments: